Nevadan's Blog

The Extreme Ammonites of Fossil Hill, Pershing County, Nevada

Posted in Nevada by nevadan on July 3, 2009

In 1902 a scientist visiting Fossil Hill in Troy Canyon near South American Canyon on the eastern flank of the Humboldt Range near Lovelock, Nevada, discovered a remarkable fossil bed. James P. Smith noted: “… the hillside was literally covered with loose ammonites…”

 Ammonites are the extinct ancestors of modern cephalopods that lived in the warm lagoonal waters of an ancient sea that covered much of western North America some 200 million years ago.

 Among the specimens collected by Smith was an ammonite cast that measured 8.81 inches in diameter and another, although incomplete, was 10.25 inches in diameter and was described by Smith as “”largest and handsomest species of Gymnites known.” Smith concluded the diameter of a whole specimen may have been as much as 15.75 inches. The average diameter of ammonite casts from the area is a few inches.

 See photos and more in The Extreme Ammonites of Fossil Hill updated March 13, 2014.

Check out Nevada Titles to see titles of eight other Nevada fossil papers from Basso.

Tagged with: ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. cryoglobulinemia said, on April 24, 2012 at 8:25 am

    Hello there! This is my first comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and say I truly enjoy reading your blog posts.I have a blog of my own but this is much better.

  2. spanish learning tools reviews said, on April 27, 2012 at 9:04 am

    Heya i’m for the first time here. I found this board and I to find It truly helpful & it helped me out much. I’m hoping to provide something again and aid others like you aided me.

  3. cryoglobulinemia said, on April 28, 2012 at 9:48 pm

    Real nice design and superb article.

  4. here said, on June 5, 2012 at 12:30 pm

    I Am Going To have to visit again whenever my course load lets up – however I am taking your Rss feed so i could go through your internet site offline. Cheers.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

